Japan to require stricter quarantine of travelers from Indonesia, Uganda

Jun 29 , 2021. 12 hours ago – 22:16 KYODO NEWS

TOKYO – The Japanese government said Monday that travelers from Indonesia and Uganda will be required to spend the first six days of their 14-day quarantine in state-designated facilities to curb the spread of the highly contagious Delta variant of the coronavirus.

The Foreign Ministry announced a set of border control changes effective Thursday also including asking travelers from Moscow, St. Petersburg and Moscow Oblast in Russia to stay in designated facilities for three days.

Travelers from Vietnam will be required to stay at such facilities for three days, down from six.

Germany will be removed from the list of countries and regions subject to the restriction, with travelers from the country still required to undergo a 14-day self-isolation after arriving in Japan.